Congress all set to return to power

| |

Congress all set to return to powerMay 13 (PTI) Guwahati, Riding on development plank and return of peace, the Congress in Assam is all set to create history by returning to power for the third time winning three seats and leading in 77 others in the 126-seat Assembly.

The party has won from Teok, Bokajan (ST) and Jalukbari constituencies. Membor Gogoi won from Teok for the third consecutive term, defeating AGP’s Hemanta Kalita by 29,899 votes.

From Bokajan (ST) seat, Kiengdoong Engti defeated independent Jagat Singh Engti by 16,809 votes, while in Jalukbari Health Minister Himanta Sarma wins for the third time defeating BJP rival by a record 77,161 votes.

Congress candidate Bharat Chandra Narah, MLA for the last 25 years, lost to AGP’s Nabakumar Toley by a margin of 5,600 from Dhakuakhana.

Posted by on Friday, May 13th, 2011. Filed under Cities, Guwahati, India News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply